Google may be deleting your backed up data with you knowing and a warning. If you do not use your Android device for a certain time, you will lose all your data from the Android phone backup. However, Google does explain this in their support pages. Its stated that Your backup will remain as long as you use your device. If you don’t use your device for 2 weeks, you may see an expiration date below your backup. They don’t really go into detail of it but the countdown is somewhere within 3 months. And the worst part is Google will delete the backups without any warning. Not cool Google. Not cool at all. So, here’s how to prevent Google from deleting your Android backups without warning.
How to prevent Google from deleting your Android backups without warning
If you receive a warning about the issue, you would be able to move the backup to your Google Drive. But, no warning will be received whatsoever. Moreover, once the data is deleted, there’s no way to recover them. So if you haven’t used your Android device for over 2 weeks, you can safely assume that the countdown has already begun and all your backup data will soon be deleted beyond recovery. To check the countdown;
- Open Google Drive app.
- Slide from left to right to open hamburger menu.
- Tap on Backups.
- You’ll see the list of your backups. If your backup is expiring, there should be a text saying when the backup for that particular device is set to expire.
The only way to prevent Google from automatically deleting your backup data is to use the device before the countdown ends. You can boot up your device once in a week just to stay on the safe side. You cannot blame Google for wanting to keep the house clean from inactive accounts.
[quote bcolor=”#3ea3c1″ arrow=”yes”]