How to Hide Photos in Google Photos

As the title reads, Google Photos now lets you lock photos. There is a condition behind it which we will talk about soon. Although photos inside Google Photos are accessible to you exclusively, there might be some photos that require secrecy and you don’t want anyone to accidentally see them. Here’s how to hide photos in Google Photos.

How to Hide Photos in Google Photos

So, about that condition I was talking about previously; this feature is only available in mobile app and bot on the web app. This is because the app only locks or hides photos that are available locally. Google Photos creates a Locked Folder in your device’s storage in which all the photos you want to lock are placed. The photos inside the folder are not synced to the cloud. So, if you’re thinking of locking entire albums then this is bad news. However, you can move as many photos and videos inside the Locked Folder provided you have the necessary storage space. Now without further ado, let’s find out how to create Locked Folder in Google Photos.

How to Create Locked Folder in Google Photos

The way you go about doing this is extremely simple. There is a feature inside Utilities called the Locked Folder that lets you password protect photos and videos. Here’s how to access it:

Step 1: Open the Google Photos app.

Step 2: Tap on Library located at the bottom of the screen.

Step 3: Select Utilities.

Step 4: Find the Locked Folder option under Organization. You will see a text that reads “Set up Locked Folder”. Tap on Get Started.

Hide Photos in Google Photos

Step 5: Now all you need to do is follow on-screen instructions.

Step 6: Once the feature is set up, open up the Locked Folder with a fingerprint or password.

Step 7: To add items, tap on Move items and select the photos and videos you want to lock.

Note: Locked Folder feature will hide items from all other apps and opens with either pin, password, or fingerprint. You will still need to add a password if you choose fingerprint. The items inside the locked folder will not be backed up on Google Photos and will be deleted if you format the device or uninstall Google Photos. And if you decide to change devices, the items inside the folder will not be transferred.

Hide Photos in Google Photos

How to Save Items Directly to Locked Folder

If you do not want to move individual items to Locked Folder or risk it being backed up, then you have the option to save the items directly to the Locked Folder. Doing this is extremely easy. All you have to do is tap on the folder icon located at the top left and choose Locked Folder. Now, the photo or video you capture will directly go inside Locked Folder.

Although this is a great feature to use for some photos and videos, the Locked Folder has some serious limitations to ensure safety. You cannot move albums, backup items, edit items, share items, and move items to the trash.

Leave a Reply